top of page
butaxa 1.jpg
RoundGNov18.jpg
fb-art.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Butxaca are a 6-piece band playing an eclectic mix of jazz-influenced music, exploring well known pieces from the likes of Herbie Hancock and Freddie Hubbard, to rarely heard gems discovered by members of the band and arranged Butxaca style, with three frontline horns and a solid three piece rhythm section driving the groove. 


The band’s name, pronounced boo-ja-ka, translated from Spanish language Valenciano, literally means pocket, and Butxaca aim to play music that grooves ‘in the pocket’.

 

Butxaca was originally formed to play the music of the renowned and much-missed saxophonist, composer, and music educator Simon D’souza, whose songbook is showcased in the signature Butxaca style, bringing to life a unique and influential voice of the Sussex jazz community.

Recent additions to the set include music from Barbara Thompson, Brian Blade, Steely Dan, Paul Simon, Billy Strayhorn, Ahmad Jamal and David Fathead Newman.

 

Butxaca are: 

Beccy Rork - tenor saxophone

Jane Stimpson - trumpet/flugelhorn 

Andy Pickett - baritone saxophone/bass clarinet

Steve Morgan - keyboards/synth

John Bedford - bass

Phil Naylor – drums

UPCOMING GIGS  2024

 

Recent Gigs

Saturday 22nd June ~ The Round Georges  Brighton 

Sunday 19th May  ~ Butxaca  celebrate Simon D'souza ~

10 years on, we celebrate his unique and influential sound, featuring guest appearance by Mark Bassey and from the Pitch Invaders. 

The Brunswick  Hove. All proceeds to The Brain Tumour Charity. 

Thursday 28th March  Butxaca ~  The Jailhouse  Arundel 

Saturday 30th September  Butxaca ~ The Round Georges 

Sunday July 30th Butxaca at B.O.A.T. Brighton  Jazz on a Summer’s Day  Saturday 22nd July  Butxaca ~ The Round Georges   

Saturday 29th April Butxaca The Round Georges  

Thursday March 30th  Butxaca  The Brunswick Holland Road Hove

Thursday 20th October Butxaca at The Brunswick Hove 

Thursday 16th June  Butxaca The Brunswick 

Saturday 22nd January 

Ropetackle Arts Centre Terry Pack's A Conference of the Trees

Saturday 4th December Butxaca  Jazz Lounge launch sessions, Eastbourne 

Sunday 21st November  Butxaca at The Brunswick Holland Road Hove 

Sunday 25th July  Butxaca at The Brunswick Holland Road 

Sunday 11th July  Butxaca at the Birdcage Bandstand  

Gigs cancelled due to Coronavirus

Friday  20th March JOKO and Butxaca The Round Georges

Friday 12th June   JOKO and Butxaca double bill at The Brunswick 8pm

Recent Gigs

Saturday 18th January  Butxaca The Round Georges  Sutherland Rd

Sunday  24th November  JOKO and Butxaca  The Brunswick Hove 

Saturday  5th October  Butxaca  The Round Georges  BN2 0EQ

Saturday 22nd June with JOKO double bill, The Brunswick, Hove.  

Afrojazz-flavoured funkbeat meets groove-suffused jazz with originals

by Simon De Souza, and covers of Joshua Redman, Herbie Hancock,

Chris McGregor and others.

Saturday 11th May The Round Georgesas part of Brighton Festival. 

Saturday March 23rd The Round Georges, Kemptown, Brighton 

Friday  Feb 22nd The Con Club, Lewes. With JOKO. 

Sunday 20 January The Brunswick  Hove, BN3 1JF

Saturday 24th November  The Round Georges, Brighton 

Thursday 15th February  The Brunswick, Hove 

butaxa 2.jpg

Butxaca ~ Souza Symphony

Butxaca Showreel

untitled (64 of 69).jpg

People Make The World Go Round

Videos of Butxaca by Martyn Baker at YouGig Studios

Photos ~ Neil Garrett Photography

bottom of page